New SAAC officers elected

    April 30, 2012

    CARBONDALE, Ill. - The Student-Athlete Advisory Committee held its annual officer elections earlier in April. Swimmer Kirsten Groome will serve as the organization's president in the coming year.

    "These officers are replacing some great representatives, and I have no doubt the newly elected officers will do a great job for us this year," SAAC advisor Connor James said.

    Groome has been a first-team All-Conference swimmer in each of her first three years with the Salukis. In 2010, she became the first SIU swimmer in 20 years to advance to the NCAA Championships. Cameron James (football) will serve as the group's vice president. James earned the Missouri Valley Football Conference Commissioner's Academic Excellence Award in 2010 and was named to the conference's academic honor roll in 2009.

    T.J. Heffernan (track and field) was elected as the group's secretary. Heffernan earned All-Conference laurels in 2011. Anita Lee (women's tennis) was elected to the secretary post. Lee has compiled 31 wins in two seasons and is second on the team this year with 20 overall singles wins and 14 dual-match singles wins.

    Tess Shubert (track and field) and Bailey Yeager (volleyball) were named community service co-chairs. Shubert earned All-Conference honors as a freshman as a member of the 4x400 relay team. Yeager was one of four Salukis to play in all 106 sets this season. She led the team with 421 digs and earned an honorable mention MVC Scholar-Athlete nod.

    SAAC, along with the Student Recreation Center intra mural league, is hosting Kicking It For Harrisburg on Thursday. Donations are being accepted at the Student Recreation Center fields on the day of the event or online here.

    The SAAC is a committee made up of student-athletes assembled to provide insight on the student-athlete experience. The SAAC also offers input on the rules, regulations and policies that affect student-athletes' lives at Southern Illinois. The SAAC stresses community involvement and communications between athletes and the athletics department.

    President: Kirsten Groome (SW-W)
    Vice President: Cameron James (FB)
    Treasurer: T.J. Heffernan (TR-M)
    Secretary: Anita Lee (TN-W)
    Community Service Chairs: Tess Shubert (TR-W), Bailey Yeager (VB)