Mike Reis
    Mike Reis

    Director of External and Broadcast Operations

    35 years

    Hall of Fame:
    Inducted in 2005


    WHCO joins Saluki Sports Network

    Becomes ninth station to join the network


    Saluki All-Access to stream MVC Basketball Tipoff

    The guest lineup includes MVC Commissioner Doug Elgin, Wichita State head coach Gregg Marshall, Loyola head coach Sheryl Swoopes, and SIU coaches Barry Hinson and Cindy Stein.

    Updated April 10, 2014

    In 2014-15, Mike Reis will enter his 36th season of doing radio play-by-play for Southern Illinois University football, basketball and baseball. He also hosts weekly call-in shows for men's basketball coach Barry Hinson and football coach Dale Lennon, and produces Saluki Sports Today, a daily feature that airs across the Saluki Radio Network.

    A 1978 SIU Radio-TV graduate, Reis has described many of the greatest moments in the history of Saluki Athletics. Among his highlights are broadcasts of SIU's 1983 I-AA National Championship football season, the 2007 I-AA Final Four football campaign and a pair of men's basketball trips the Sweet 16 in 2002 and 2007.

    He has brought to life the accomplishments of numerous NCAA postseason football, basketball and baseball teams, dating back to baseball games in the 1977 College World Series.

    Reis began his student sports casting career at WSIU Radio and WSIU-TV in 1975. He became a part-time sportscaster at WCIL Radio in 1976, and moved to full time in 1978.

    The Cincinnati, Ohio-native was inducted into the SIU Athletics Hall of Fame, and in 2006 he was inducted into the Illinois Basketball Coaches Association Hall of Fame. He was the recipient of the 2007 SIU Alumni Association Achievement Award for Service. He was also the recipient of the 2008 John Sanders Spirit of the Missouri Valley Conference Award and was the SIU College of Communications and Fine Arts Commencement speaker as the College's Alum of the Year.

    In 2011, Reis was named the Illinois Sportscaster of the Year, as voted on by the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association.