MAC Championships Day Two Finals Canceled

    March 2, 2012

    By John Lock

    Complete Results

    OXFORD, Ohio - The second day finals session of the MAC Championships has been canceled due to severe weather. Friday morning's preliminary session was retroactively scored as the finals session based on times.

    "In 25 years of coaching, I've never seen anything like this," head coach Rick Walker said. "But there's no use in dwelling on it. Eastern Michigan had a great day, and we actually gained on them, so it's going to come down to the wire tomorrow."

    Southern dropped to third place, but the Salukis actually gained two points on leader Eastern Michigan. Buffalo snuck one point ahead of SIU to take over second place.

    Justin Wolfe's school and MAC Championship record in the 100-yard butterfly prelims (47.29) earned him his third career MAC Championship title. Wolfe's time broke a 21-year-old school record and 13-year-old MAC Championship record. His younger brother, Shaun Wolfe, earned 12 points for the Salukis for his seventh-fastest time in the event. Jake Lucheon and Matt Frey also scored for SIU.

    Csaba Gercsak, Matt Frey and Cesar Perez scored for SIU in the 400 individual medley. El Badrawi, Matt Parsons, Matt Kruse and Chris Jordan all scored for the Salukis in the 200-yard freestyle. Steve Wood, Calvin Kolar and Sebastian Garcia scored in the 100-yard breaststroke. Wood's time was the third fastest in school history and placed him third in the event. Cesar Perez was the lone Saluki to score in the 100-yard backstroke, finishing with the eighth-fastest time.



    The two relays scheduled for Friday night will be moved to Saturday. The 800 freestyle relay will be held 30 minutes after the conclusion of the preliminary session. The 200 medley relay will become the first event of the finals session.

    Tomorrow's prelims begin at 10 a.m. CT, and the finals begin at 6 p.m. CT The MAC website,, will stream both sessions for free.

    1.) EMU - 383
    2.) Buffalo - 366
    3.) Southern Illinois - 365
    4.) MSU - 286
    5.) Miami - 252
    6.) BSU - 107
    7.) Evansville -- 40