MAC Championships Day Three: Prelims

    March 3, 2012

    Complete Results

    OXFORD, Ohio - Matt Parsons and Justin Wolfe finished first and second, respectively, in the 200-yard butterfly and Southern Illinois placed 11 swimmers in scoring finals during Saturday morning's preliminary session at the MAC Championship.

    Matt Parsons (1:47.59) swam the fifth-fastest time in school history in the 200-yard butterfly and led all times in the event. Justin Wolfe was right behind him, leading a group of five SIU swimmers in the top 16. Thomas Defay, Matt Kruse and Matt Frey will compete in tonight's B Final.

    Cesar Perez was the lone Saluki to post a 200-yard backstroke time among the top 16. Perez (1:49.05) will compete in tonight's A Final.

    Juan Arbelaez, Jared Bradd and El Badrawi all posted top-eight times in the 100-yard freestyle. Arbelaez (44.32) led the way and posted the fourth-fastest time. His time was the fifth-fastest time in SIU history.

    Steve Wood and Calvin Kolar finished fourth and fifth, respectively, in the 200-yard breaststroke.

    Due to yesterday's canceled finals session, the 800 freestyle relay final was raced after the preliminaries ended. Southern Illinois placed third (6:35.67), the fifth-fastest time in school history.

    The final session of the MAC Championships are tonight, starting at 6 p.m. CT. The meet is being streamed for free on