Five divers set to compete in Zone C Diving Regionals

    March 7, 2012

    By John Lock

    BLOOMINGTON, Ind. - Five Southern Illinois divers are set to compete in the Zone C Diving Regional Qualifier on March 8-10 in Bloomington, Ind. Anna Beeck, Nathan Day, Justin Ruszkowski, Kegan Skelton and Brittany Weigel will dive for a shot at competing in the NCAA Championships.

    Zone C is comprised of qualifying divers from schools in Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan and Ohio. The top two divers at each event will qualify for the NCAA Championship. If a diver qualifies at multiple events, the next-highest score will also qualify.

    Beeck placed second in both the one and three-meter dives at the MVC Championships. Her three-meter score of 291.45 was better than the previous Championship record. Brittany Weigel placed third and fourth in the on and three-meter dives, respectively. Weigel was the MVC co-Diver of the Year as a freshman in 2011.

    Justin Ruszkowski competed in the A Final in the one and three-meter dives at the Mid-American Conference Championship, placing third and fifth, respectively. Kegan Skelton placed at the top of the B Final in both dives, and his finals scores were seventh-best in each dive. Nathan Day placed 12th in both dives.

    All five divers will compete in both the one and three-meter dives. Skelton will also compete in the platform dive. The women will compete in the one-meter dive on Thursday, March 8 and the three-meter dive on Friday, March 9. The men will compete in the three-meter dive on Thursday and the one-meter dive on Friday. The platform dive will be held on Saturday.



    On Thursday and Friday, the Zone Diving competition will start at 1 p.m. CT. Platform diving will begin at 11 a.m. on Saturday, March 10. For the event website, click here.