Sophia Lozano finishes 13th in the weight throw at NCAA Indoor Championships

    Junior Sophia Lozano

    Junior Sophia Lozano

    March 14, 2014

    Schedule | Live Results
    Preview | Blog

    By Tyler Wooten
    SIUSalukis.com

    ALBUQUERQUE -- Junior Saluki thrower Sophia Lozano finished 13th in the weight throw at the NCAA Indoor Championships on Friday night, earning her a second-team All-American certificate.

    Lozano's third and final throw of 20.01m (65-07.75) was her best of the day, but fell nearly two and one-half feet shy of making it to finals. Her finish ends a remarkable indoor season capped by a dramatic entry into the national meet. Lozano took the final qualifying spot by one centimeter with her Missouri Valley Conference weight throw winning heave of 20.89m (68-06.50).

    Two more Salukis will compete at the final day of the championships on Saturday. Both Kenya Culmer (high jump) and Josh Freeman (shot put) will compete at 1:30 p.m. CST.

     

     

    Sunday, Mar 1
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Cedar Falls, Iowa M: 4th of 8 W: 2nd of 9 Live Results
    Friday, Mar 13
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Fayetteville, Ark. All Day
    Saturday, Mar 14
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Fayetteville, Ark. All Day
    Friday, Mar 27
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Carbondale, Ill. All Day
    Saturday, Mar 28
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Carbondale, Ill. All Day
    Saturday, Apr 4
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Charleston, Ill. All Day
    Friday, Apr 10
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Knoxville, Tenn. All Day
    Saturday, Apr 11
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Knoxville, Tenn. All Day
    Thursday, Apr 16
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Walnut, Calif. All Day
    Friday, Apr 17
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Walnut, Calif. All Day
    SIU