Price qualifies for Junior World Championships in hammer

    Freshman DeAnna Price

    Freshman DeAnna Price

    June 16, 2012

    By Bill Ford
    SIUSalukis.com

    Results

    CARBONDALE, Ill.-- Southern Illinois freshman DeAnna Price finished second in the women's hammer throw at the USA Junior Outdoor Track and Field Championships Saturday in Bloomington, Ind.

    The Moscom Mills, Mo., native posted a throw of 202-10 on her third attempt to sew up the second spot, and with it a spot on Team USA at the IAAF Junior World Championships July 10-15 in Barcelona, Spain.

    Price will advance to the World Championships along with event champion Shelby Ashe, who set an American Junior record with a throw of 223-06.

    Also competing in the hammer throw at the USATF Junior Nationals, SIU freshman Sophia Lozano finished seventh with a throw of 172-05.

    Junior Nationals will conclude Sunday with SIU freshman Curtis Wideman competing in the men's discus starting at 1:30 p.m. central and Juan Carrera competing in the men's 3,000-meter steeplechase at 3:30 p.m. central.


     

     

    Saturday, Feb 28
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Cedar Falls, Iowa All Day Live Results
    Sunday, Mar 1
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Cedar Falls, Iowa All Day Live Results
    Friday, Mar 13
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Fayetteville, Ark. All Day
    Saturday, Mar 14
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Fayetteville, Ark. All Day
    Friday, Mar 27
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Carbondale, Ill. All Day
    Saturday, Mar 28
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Carbondale, Ill. All Day
    Saturday, Apr 4
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Charleston, Ill. All Day
    Friday, Apr 10
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Knoxville, Tenn. All Day
    Saturday, Apr 11
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Knoxville, Tenn. All Day
    Thursday, Apr 16
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Walnut, Calif. All Day
    SIU