Fortney named MVC Scholar-Athlete of the Week

    Senior thrower Kim Fortney

    Senior thrower Kim Fortney

    Jan. 25, 2013

    SIU Salukis.com

    MVC Release

    CARBONDALE, Ill.— Southern Illinois track and field athlete Kim Fortney has been named a Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Week.

    The senior thrower earned the honor after helping the Saluki women’s team to a second-place finish out of eight teams at the Illini Classic last Saturday in Champaign, Ill. Fortney picked up an event win in the shot put with a throw of 52-0.25 and finished second in the weight throw with a heave of 62-03.75.

    A communications disorders and sciences major, Fortney holds a cumulative 3.874 GPA.


     

     

    Thursday, May 28
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas All Day
    Friday, May 29
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas All Day
    Saturday, May 30
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas All Day
    Wednesday, June 10
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Thursday, June 11
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Friday, June 12
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Saturday, June 13
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Thursday, June 25
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Friday, June 26
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Saturday, June 27
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day