Track and Field's Cherry named MVC Elite 18 recipient

    Junior Lucas Cherry

    Junior Lucas Cherry

    May 17, 2012

    By Bill Ford
    SIUSalukis.com

    CARBONDALE, Ill. -- Southern Illinois junior distance specialist Lucas Cherry has been awarded his second Missouri Valley Conference Elite 18 Award, the league announced Thursday.

    Modeled after the NCAA's Elite 88 Award, the Elite 18 award is presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA competing at the finals site at each of the MVC's 18 team championships.

    Cherry won the award for the second year in a row for outdoor track and field. The Carbondale, Ill., native earned All-MVC honors for the second consecutive year Saturday with a third-place finish in the 3,000-meter steeplechase in a career-best time of 9:06.94.

    An accounting major, Cherry carries a 4.0 cumulative GPA.


     

     

    Friday, May 29
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas No team scores
    Saturday, May 30
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas All Day
    Wednesday, June 10
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Thursday, June 11
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Friday, June 12
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Saturday, June 13
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Thursday, June 25
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Friday, June 26
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Saturday, June 27
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Sunday, June 28
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day