Freeman wins gold in shot put, Shemonia finishes seventh in 10K at Pan Am Junior Championships

    Sophomore Josh Freeman won the gold medal in the shot put at the Pan-Am Junior Athletics Championships.

    Sophomore Josh Freeman won the gold medal in the shot put at the Pan-Am Junior Athletics Championships.

    Aug 26, 2013

    USATF Recap

    By Tyler Wooten
    SIUSalukis.com

    MEDELLIN, Columbia -- Saluki track and field sophomore Josh Freeman won the gold medal in the shot put by over half a meter at the Pan-American Junior Athletics Championships in Colombia on Sunday.

    Freeman, the 2012 MVC outdoor champion in the shot put, won during a torrential downpour and in a flooded throwing ring with his best launch of 20.20m (66-03.25) -- over half a meter better than silver medalist and fellow American, Coy Blair (19.69m/64-07.25). Freeman's final throw was ruled a foul, but would have measured close to 70 feet.

    On Saturday, fellow sophomore Brandon Shemonia finished seventh in the 10,000 meter run with a time of 32:22.75, seven seconds short of his time at the USA Track and Field Junior Championships in June.

     

     

    Thursday, May 28
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas All Day
    Friday, May 29
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas All Day
    Saturday, May 30
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Austin, Texas All Day
    Wednesday, June 10
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Thursday, June 11
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Friday, June 12
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Saturday, June 13
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Thursday, June 25
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Friday, June 26
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day
    Saturday, June 27
    SPORT LOCATION TIME MEDIA
    Track Eugene, Ore. All Day