Three cross country runners named to MVC Scholar-Athlete team

    Nov. 1, 2011

    ST. LOUIS -- The Missouri Valley Conference has announced the 2011 MVC Cross Country Scholar-Athlete Teams, following the completion of the 2011 State Farm Missouri Valley Conference Cross Country Championship last weekend in Terre Haute, Ind., at the LaVern Gibson Championship Cross Country Course.

    Scholar-Athlete honors require athletes to meet performance standards, as they must finish among the first 20 runners at the conference championship and hold at least a cumulative 3.2 GPA and be a sophomore in athletic and academic standing to earn a spot on the MVC Scholar-Athlete team.

    Neal Anderson, Brian Dixon, and Jamie Pfister represent Southern Illinois in the 2011 Scholar-Athlete team selection. Dixon and Pfister represent two of three student-athletes boasting a perfect 4.0 GPA.

    Wichita State has the most honorees on the women's side, with four. For the men, Indiana State also has four student-athletes that have earned the honor.

    MVC Scholar-Athlete Team Get Acrobat Reader