Four Salukis earn All-MVC honors

    Kyle Pauly is the first freshman to earn All-MVC First or Second Team honors since 2007.

    Kyle Pauly is the first freshman to earn All-MVC First or Second Team honors since 2007.
    Baseball Home

    Baird named second-team All-Region pitcher

    Three Salukis named to MVC Scholar-Athlete team

    Register now for 44th annual Saluki Baseball Camp

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube

    May 19, 2014

    Missouri Valley Conference All-Conference Team Release Get Acrobat Reader

    Southern Illinois designated hitter Cody Daily and relief pitcher Kyle Pauly have both been selected to the All-Missouri Valley Conference Second Team, the conference announced Monday. In addition, starting pitcher Todd Eaton and first baseman Ryan Casillas earned All-Conference honorable mentions.

    “We are proud of these young men for their accomplishments on the field,” SIU Coach Ken Henderson said. “The MVC is as talented as it has been in years, and to be recognized among the best in the league is a great and well deserved honor for these four individuals.” 

    Daily, a senior, leads the Salukis with a .337 batting average and six home runs. He is fifth in the MVC in batting average, slugging percentage (.518), hits (67) and doubles (16). Daily finished the regular season strong. In the last four weeks, he has hit .438 with five doubles, four home runs and 13 RBIs in 13 games. In conference play, he hit .342 and led the Valley with nine doubles.

    Pauly has posted a 1.55 ERA in a team-leading 21 appearances. He is SIU’s first true freshman to earn All-MVC first or second team honors since outfielder Aaron Roberts was named to the All-MVC Second Team in 2007. Among pitchers who threw at least 10 innings, the freshman reliever led the league with a 0.83 ERA and .179 opposing batting average. Pauly earned two wins and two saves and, at one point in the season, put together a scoreless streak of 19 and a third innings, the longest by a Saluki this season.

    Eaton, a senior, earned All-Conference honors for the third year in a row after being named to the All-MVC Second Team in 2012 and 2013 as a relief pitcher. He shined in conference play this season, going 2-0 along with a 2.86 ERA and holding opponents to a .241 average, both of which rank 10th in the league.  His 50 and a third innings were the second most by a pitcher in MVC games this season.

    Casillas, also a senior, hit .284 in the regular season with five home runs and a team-leading 39 RBIs, tied for eighth most in the Valley. He is also tied for third in the conference with 17 doubles and 10th in the MVC with 62 hits and 94 total bases. Casillas is the only Saluki who has played in all 54 games this season.

    All-Missouri Valley Conference First Team
    1B - Casey Gillaspie, Wichita State
    2B - Paul DeJong, Illinois State
    3B - Jake Mahon, Evansville
    SS - Tyler Wampler, Indiana State
    C - Kyle Pollock, Evansville
    UT - Dayne Parker, Wichita State
    DH - Greg Partyka, Bradley
    OF - Kevin Kaczmarski, Evansville
    OF - Austin Listi, Dallas Baptist
    OF - Tate Matheny, Missouri State
    SP - Kyle Freeland, Evansville
    SP - A.J. Ladwig, Wichita State
    SP - Paul Voelker, Dallas Baptist
    RP - Ryan Keaffaber, Indiana State
    RP - Brandon Koch, Dallas Baptist 

    All-Missouri Valley Conference Second Team
    1B - Mike Wesolowski, Dallas Baptist
    2B - Boomer Synek, Evansville
    3B - Chase Simpson, Wichita State
    SS - Tyler Leffler, Bradley
    C - Tyler Baker, Wichita State
    UT - Mike Fitzgerald, Indiana State
    DH - Cody Daily, Southern Illinois
    OF - Landon Curry, Indiana State
    OF - Daniel Kihle, Wichita State
    OF - Max Murphy, Bradley
    SP - Cale Elam, Wichita State
    SP - Dan Savas, Illinois State
    SP - David Stagg, Indiana State
    RP - Kyle Pauly, Southern Illinois
    RP - David Suarez, Illinois State

    All-Missouri Valley Conference Honorable Mention
    1B - Ryan Casillas, Southern Illinois
    2B - Derek Hannahs, Indiana State
    2B - Drew Turbin, Dallas Baptist
    3B - Spencer Gaa, Bradley
    SS - Dennis Colon, Illinois State
    C - Mike Hollenbeck, Illinois State
    UT - Eric Cheray, Missouri State
    OF - Daniel Dwyer, Illinois State
    OF - David Martinelli, Dallas Baptist
    SP - Dylan Craig, Illinois State
    SP - Todd Eaton, Southern Illinois
    SP - Cole Isom, Evansville
    SP - Jeremy Rhoades, Illinois State
    SP - Cy Sneed, Dallas Baptist
    RP - Sam Johns, Evansville
    RP - Aaron LaBrie, Wichita State 

    All-Defensive Team
    1B - Casey Gillaspie, Wichita State
    2B - Eric Cheray, Missouri State
    3B - Nash Knight, Dallas Baptist
    SS - Tyler Wampler, Indiana State
    C - Tyler Baker, Wichita State
    OF - Kevin Kaczmarski, Evansville
    OF - Tate Matheny, Missouri State
    OF - Max Murphy, Bradley
    P - Cale Elam, Wichita State