Seven Salukis earn All-MVC Baseball honors

    SIU is one of three schools with three players on the All-MVC First Team.

    SIU is one of three schools with three players on the All-MVC First Team.
    Baseball Home

    Baird named second-team All-Region pitcher

    Three Salukis named to MVC Scholar-Athlete team

    Register now for 44th annual Saluki Baseball Camp

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube

    May 21, 2012

    By Scott Gierman 

    ST. LOUIS, Mo. - The Missouri Valley Conference announced the 2012 All-Conference Team Monday. Southern Illinois has three players named to the All-MVC First Team, which is tied for the most of any school in the conference. The Salukis also have four student-athletes represented on the Second Team. Three first teamers is the most the program has had since 1990.

    First baseman Chris Serritella was named First Team All-MVC for the second time in his SIU career. Senior left fielder Jordan Sivertsen joined him on the First Team after being named to the Second Team in 2011. Austin Montgomery was named to the First Team as a utility player. He was an All-MVC Honorable Mention as a freshman in 2010.

    The Salukis represented on the All-Conference Second Team are pitchers Todd Eaton, Cody Forsythe and Cameron Maldonado and designated hitter Brock Harding.

    "We are extremely proud of these young men, and they are all very deserving of these tremendous honors," SIU Coach Ken Henderson said.

    Serritella leads the MVC with a .394 batting average, 31 points higher than anyone else in the conference. He enters the MVC Tournament with 11 home runs and 56 RBI, both of which rank second in the league. Serritella also leads the conference in slugging percentage (.667), on-base percentage (.468), runs scored (52), hits (85), doubles (24) and total bases (144). His 24 doubles set a new single season school record.

    "It's a great honor," Serritella said. "There are a lot of good first basemen in this league, and it's an honor to be chosen by the coaches in the conference as being among the top players."

    Sivertsen is hitting .288 with 43 RBI and leads the MVC with 12 home runs on the season. He hit .329 with seven home runs and seven doubles in 21 conference games. His 56 total bases and .659 slugging percentage in conference play were tops in the MVC. He also ranks in the top 10 in the league with his overall stats in slugging percentage (.538), runs scored (44), RBI (43), doubles (15), total bases (114) and walks (31).

    "It's a great honor to make the first team after making second team last year," Sivertsen said. "It's nice to see that we have a few guys on there this year. That shows we had a pretty good season."

    Montgomery's .327 batting average is the 10th highest in the MVC. He has also slugged seven home runs and driven in 54 runs. He showed his versatility by moving from right field to third base midway through the season without missing a beat. After missing part of 2010 with mono, he is one of only two players on the team to start every game this season. His 73 hits are third highest in the MVC, and he also ranks in the top 10 in doubles (16), home runs and total bases (110). He matched a school record during the last weekend of the regular season when he became the first Saluki in 25 years to have six hits in a single game. 

    "I didn't expect it at all," Montgomery said. "I'm happy to be recognized in that way. It's been great being healthy all year. I couldn't ask for anything more. I had a much better chance to compete this year."

    Eaton's eight saves are fourth most in the conference. He has posted a 2.86 ERA with 31 strikeouts and just 12 walks in 28 and a third innings this season. The sophomore has held opponents to a .202 batting average and already ranks sixth in school history on the career s saves list.

    It is the second consecutive All-MVC honor for Forsythe, who was First Team All-Conference in 2011. Forsythe is 4-4 with a 2.79 ERA, which is 10th lowest in the conference. In 2012, he has held batters to a .237 average and recorded a career high 73 strikeouts in 93 and two-thirds innings. His numbers were even more impressive in conference games as he posted a 1.49 ERA and held opponents to a .191 average in seven conference starts. His 54 and a third innings of work was the highest of anyone in Valley games, and he has tossed three complete games.

    Harding hit .355 in 20 conference games this season, fifth highest in the league. In 48 overall games, he is hitting .299 with eight doubles. With just 15 strikeouts in 167 at-bats, he is one of the most difficult batters in the conference to strike out.

    Maldonado posted a 3.53 ERA in seven conference starts and tied for the conference lead with four wins in Valley play. In 35 and two-thirds conference innings, Maldonado struck out 30 hitters and walked only four. The Salukis have a 10-2 record in games he has started in 2012.

    First Team All-Conference
    1B – Chris Serritalla, Southern Illinois
    2B – Kevin Medrano, Missouri State
    SS – Eric Stamets, Evansville
    3B – Zac Johnson, Illinois State
    C – Jeremy Lucas, Indiana State
    DH – Johnny Coy, Wichita State
    UT – Austin Montgomery, Southern Illinois
    OF – Eric Aguilera, Illinois State
    OF – Rob Ort, Indiana State
    OF – Jordan Sivertsen, Southern Illinois
    SP – Dakota Bacus, Indiana State
    SP – Joe Bircher, Bradley
    SP – Nick Petree, Missouri State
    RP – Kenny Long, Illinois State
    RP – Tyler Burgess, Missouri State


    Second Team All-Conference
    1B – Brock Chaffin, Missouri State
    2B – Chris Godinez, Bradley
    SS – Tyler Wampler, Indiana State
    3B – Brent Seifert, Missouri State
    C – Luke Voit, Missouri State
    DH – Brock Harding, Southern Illinois
    UT – Anthony Bemboom, Creighton
    OF – Kyle Burnam, Indiana State
    OF – Spiker Helms, Missouri State
    OF – Kevin Kaczmarski, Evansville
    SP – Cody Forsythe, Southern Illinois
    SP – Cameron Maldonado, Southern Illinois
    SP – Sean Manaea, Indiana State
    RP – Todd Eaton, Southern Illinois
    RP – Cale Elam, Wichita State


    Honorable Mention
    1B – Jon Hedges, Indiana State
    2B – Kevin Tokarski, Illinois State
    SS – Erik Harbutz, Wichita State
    C – Matt Mirabal, Illinois State
    DH – Keenen Maddox, Missouri State
    UT – Dayne Parker, Wichita State
    OF – Landon Curry, Indiana State
    OF – Micah Green, Wichita State
    OF – Chad Hinshaw, Illinois State
    OF – Mike Tauchman, Bradley
    OF – Ty Wiesemeyer, Illinois State
    SP – Kyle Lloyd, Evansville
    SP – Kyle Freeland, Evansville
    SP – Cody Schumacher, Missouri State
    SP – Josh Smith, Wichita State
    RP – Justin Hauer, Illinois State