Justin Bocot named to MVC All-Bench team; Carlton Fay named to Most-Improved team

    Men's Basketball Home

    Anthony Beane pursuing pro basketball career

    Men's Basketball signs juco guard Jonathan Wiley

    Men's Basketball signs juco transfer Thik Bol

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Desktop Wallpapers

    CBSSports.com Hoops

    Top 25 Rankings


    March 4, 2009

    St. LOUIS, Mo. - Saluki sophomore guard Justin Bocot was named to the Missouri Valley Conference All-Bench team, while teammate Carlton Fay was tabbed for the Most-Improved team, the league announced Wednesday.

    Bocot has played in all 30 games, 22 of them off the bench, and averages 5.8 ppg. His average in conference games jumped to 7.8 ppg, including a career-high 28 points at Missouri State. Bocot is now in the starting lineup, due to an injury to Bryan Mullins.

    Fay is the team's second-leading scorer at 10.5 ppg, a substantial improvement over last year's scoring average of 2.4 ppg. The sophomore forward ranks seventh in the MVC in free throw shooting (.804). He has posted double figures in 19 of 30 games.

    Sophomores Lucas O'Rear and Kwadzo Ahelegbe of Northern Iowa headline the list of selections for the 2009 Missouri Valley Conference specialty teams for men's basketball. O'Rear, a native of Nashville, Ill., was named the league's Team Captain for the All-Bench Team, while Ahelegbe, a native of Oakdale, Minn., was selected the conference's Team Captain for the Most-Improved Team.

    Justin Bocot, Southern Illinois
    Travis Brown, UNI
    Will Creekmore, Missouri State
    *Lucas O'Rear, UNI
    Brandon Sampay, Illinois State
    Kenton Walker, Creighton
    Antoine Young, Creighton

    *Kwadzo Ahelegbe, UNI
    Carlton Fay, Southern Illinois
    Nate Garner, Evansville
    Emmanuel Holloway, Illinois State
    Josh Parker, Drake
    Jay Tunnell, Indiana State

    The teams, which were selected by the league's newspaper beat writers, are comprised of a minimum of five student-athletes (top five vote-getters, plus ties) on each squad and feature a mix of underclassmen and upperclassmen, including a freshman, seven sophomores, and five seniors.