Barry Hinson comes in third in MVC Coach of the Year voting

    Barry Hinson

    Barry Hinson
    Men's Basketball Home

    Men's Basketball player Bola Olaniyan granted release from scholarship

    Boys Basketball camps start on June 18

    Anthony Beane pursuing pro basketball career

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Desktop Wallpapers

    Top 25 Rankings


    March 7, 2013

    ST. LOUIS, Mo. - Southern Illinois University men's basketball coach Barry Hinson finished third in the voting for the 2012-13 Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year award.

    Wichita State men's head coach Gregg Marshall won the honor, becoming the first Shocker head coach to win back-to-back Coach of the Year honors. He received 23 of a possible 40 first place tallies and 87 total points to out-distance Creighton's Greg McDermott (64 total points), Hinson (24 points) and Evansville's Marty Simmons (20 points).

    Voting was conducted by league coaches, media and sports information directors.

    Hinson's third-place finish marks the highest in league history for a coach whose team finished in last place. The Salukis were 6-12 in conference play, but won five of their last seven league matchups, after starting the season 1-10.

    Marshall joins four other Shocker head coaches to win the MVC Coach of the Year award, including Ralph Miller (1954), Gary Thompson (1965), Eddie Fogler (1987) and Mark Turgeon (2006).

    Marshall has guided Wichita State to a school-record fourth-straight campaign with 24 or more victories and a school-record tying fourth-consecutive season with 12 or more league wins. In his sixth season at the controls of the Wichita State program, he has compiled a 24-7 overall mark - despite losing 75 percent of his scoring from the 2012 NCAA Tournament team and missing three 2012-13 starters for sustained periods of time.