Boemer picks up another All-America honor

    Football Home

    Coaches Clinic set for June 3-4

    Adam Fuehne begins pro career today at Detroit Lions rookie camp

    SIU hires Carl Franks as cornerbacks coach

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTubeDesktop Wallpapers
    Football promotions

    Top 25 Rankings


    Jan. 10, 2012

    By John Lock

    Southern Illinois center Bryan Boemer was named to the College Sports News Fabulous Fifty All-America team on Tuesday. Boemer has now been named an All-American by three different outlets. Boemer is the sixth Salukis to be named to CSN's All-America team.

    Boemer was a captain for the Salukis in 2011 and led an offensive line that blocked for MVFC Newcomer of the Year Jewel Hampton. The Salukis averaged 183.1 yards per game rushing, ranking third in the conference, and SIU posted seven 200-yard rushing games in 2011. Boemer was named an All-Conference lineman for the third year in a row. He posted a 93 percent blocking percentage and didn't give up a sack all year.

    Seven players in the Missouri Valley Football Conference were named to the team, led by National Defensive Player of the year, L.J Fort (Northern Iowa). Boemer was one of two MVFC offensive players named to the first team, along with Indiana State's Shakir Bell.

    Boemer was named a first-team All-American by the American Football Coaches Association and a second-team selection by the Associated Press.

    QB: Chris Lum, Senior, Lehigh
    QB: Nathan Dick, Senior, Central Arkansas
    RB: Jonathan Grimes, Senior, William & Mary
    RB: Shakir Bell, Sophomore, Indiana State
    FB: Eric Breitenstein, Junior, Wofford
    AB: Brock Jackolski, Senior, Stony Brook
    C: Bryan Boemer, Senior, Southern Illinois
    OG: J.C. Oram, Senior , Weber St
    OG: Gino Gradkowski, Senior, Delaware
    OT: Tom Compton, Senior, South Dakota
    OT: Brett Moore, Senior, Georgia Southern
    OL: Travis Watson, Senior, Sam Houston St
    TE: Colin Anderson, Junior, Furman
    TE: Renty Rollins, Senior, Jackson State
    WR: Aaron Mellette, Junior, Elon
    WR: Ryan Spadola, Junior, Lehigh
    WR: Brian Quick, Senior, Appalachian State
    WR: Nicholas Edwards, Junior, Eastern Washington
    WR: Richard Sincere, Sophomore, Sam Houston State



    DT: Brent Russell, Junior, Georgia Southern
    DT: Ben Boothby, Senior, Northern Iowa
    DE: Adrian Hamilton, Senior, Prairie View A&M
    DE: Zach Nash, Senior, Sacramento State
    DL: Andrew Schaetzke, Senior, Georgetown
    DL: Ben Obaseki, Junior, Indiana State
    DL: Blake Olijaro, Sophomore, San Diego
    DL: Ryan Davis, Senior, Bethune-Cookman
    LB: Kadarron Anderson, Senior, Furman
    LB: Matt Evans, Junior, New Hampshire
    LB: Wes Dothard, Sophomore, Chattanooga
    LB: Caleb McSurdy, Senior, Montana
    LB: Keith Pough, Junior, Howard
    CB: Trumaine Johnson, Senior, Montana
    CB: Josh Norman, Senior, Coastal Carolina
    DB: Bryce Robertson, Senior, Bucknell
    DB: Kejuan Riley, Junior, Alabama State
    DB: Marcus Williams, Sophomore, North Dakota State
    DB: Micah Pellerin, Senior, Hampton
    S: Darnell Taylor, Junior, Sam Houston State
    S: Justin Bethel, Senior, Presbyterian

    K: Zach Brown, Senior, Portland State
    P: David Harrington, Senior, Idaho State
    KR: Kevin Fogg, Junior, Liberty
    PR: CJ Estelle, Senior, UT-Martin
    LS: Richard Wright, Sophomore, Liberty