Boemer wins Rimington Award as the top FCS center in the nation

    SIU center Bryan Boemer earned the Rimington Award, which goes to the top center in the FCS.

    SIU center Bryan Boemer earned the Rimington Award, which goes to the top center in the FCS.
    Football Home

    Iannotti named to NFF Hampshire Honor Society

    Saluki Coaches Caravan to make four stops during month of May

    Offense edges Defense, 43-35, in annual Saluki Football Spring Game

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTubeDesktop Wallpapers
    Football promotions

    Top 25 Rankings


    Jan. 31, 2012

    By John Lock

    NEW YORK - Southern Illinois center Bryan Boemer has been awarded the 2011 Rimington Award, given to the top center in the FCS. Boemer is the first Saluki to be honored with the Rimington Award.

    Boemer has been named a first-team All-American by the College Sporting News and the American Football Coaches Association, and he earned second-team All-America honors from the Associated Press. He is a three-time All-Conference offensive lineman. In 2011, he posted a 93 percent blocking percentage and didn't allow a sack. He led an offensive line that blocked for seven 200-yard rushing games and averaged 183 yards per game on the ground.

    The Rimington Award is given to the top center at every division below the FBS, whose top center earns the Rimington Trophy. Michigan's David Molk was the 2011 FBS recipient of the Rimington Trophy. Matt Webber (Div. II, Abilene Christian), Brett Ekkens (Div. III, Mount Union) and Kyle Pettit (NAIA, Georgetown College) earned the Rimington Award at their respective levels.

    Dave Rimington, the award's namesake, was a consensus first-team All-America center at the University of Nebraska in 1981 and 1982, during which time he became the John Outland Trophy's only double winner as the nation's finest college interior lineman.