Football holds year-end banquet

    Football Home

    Hill announces addition of five new Salukis

    Jerry Kill to be inducted into 2016 Kansas Sports Hall of Fame

    Football to host annual women's clinic on June 16

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTubeDesktop Wallpapers
    Football promotions

    Top 25 Rankings


    Feb. 11, 2012

    By John Lock

    CARBONDALE, Ill. - Kenneth Boatright and Jewel Hampton were named team MVPs at the team's year-end banquet on Saturday at the SIU Student Center Ballroom. Head coach Dale Lennon honored the seniors and handed out team awards, as voted on by the players.

    Hampton led the conference with 17 touchdowns and earned Missouri Valley Football Conference Newcomer of the Year honors after the season. He also took home the team's Newcomer of the Year and Offensive Backfield MVP at the banquet. Boatright recorded 13.5 tackles for loss, 7.5 of which came in the last three weeks of the season. Boatright was also named co-Defensive Lineman team MVP by his teammates, along with Kayon Swanson.

    Bryan Boemer was presented with his Rimington Award, given to the top center in the FCS. He also earned the Toughest Saluki award and the Offensive Line MVP. In addition to the Rimington Award, Boemer was named an All-American by three outlets after the season.

    Offensive MVP - Jewel Hampton
    Defensive MVP - Kenneth Boatright
    Toughest Saluki - Bryan Boemer
    Defensive Back MVP - Mike McElroy
    Defensive Lineman MVP- Kenneth Boatright and Kayon Swanson
    Linebacker MVP - Joe Okon
    Offensive Lineman MVP - Bryan Boemer
    Offensive Back MVP - Jewel Hampton
    Receiver MVP - MyCole Pruitt
    Special Teams MVP - Steve Strother
    Offensive Scout MVP- Kendell Edwards
    Defensive Scout MVP - Kezmond Myles
    Newcomer of the Year - Jewel Hampton
    Most Improved - Kory Faulkner
    Spirit Award - Connor James