Pruitt named to CFPA Tight End Award Watch List

    Pruitt ranked fourth in the nation among tight ends with 577 receiving yards in 2012.

    Pruitt ranked fourth in the nation among tight ends with 577 receiving yards in 2012.
    Football Home

    Hill announces addition of five new Salukis

    Jerry Kill to be inducted into 2016 Kansas Sports Hall of Fame

    Football to host annual women's clinic on June 16

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTubeDesktop Wallpapers
    Football promotions

    Top 25 Rankings


    May 28, 2013

    CHARLOTTE, N.C. - College Football Performance Awards, the largest awards organization in D-I college football, has named Southern Illinois tight end MyCole Pruitt to its watch list for the 2013 CFPA FCS Tight End Award. The preliminary watch list highlights thirty-two returning performers vying for the top individual tight end award in the Football Championship Subdivision.

    This marks the second year in a row that Pruitt has been named to the CFPA FCS Tight End Award watch list. He hauled in 49 receptions for 577 yards as a sophomore in 2012.

    All CFPA recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions; players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

    According to the CFPA, there are 111 CFPA recipients currently listed on official 2013 NFL rosters and more than 130 CFPA recipients have signed professional contracts with 21 recipients going in the first-round of the NFL Draft. Past CFPA winners include Colin Kaepernick (Nevada), Trent Richardson (Alabama), Dez Bryant (Oklahoma State), Whitney Mercilus (Illinois), Von Miller (Texas A&M), Alex Henery (Nebraska), Earl Thomas (Texas), and Patrick Peterson (LSU).

    Former Saluki defensive back Korey Lindsey earned the 2010 CFPA Elite Defensive Back Award.

    The full list of 2013 recipients, including the 2013 CFPA FCS Awards, will be announced on January 8, 2014.