MyCole Pruitt named to CFPA Tight End Award Watch List

    MyCole Pruitt

    MyCole Pruitt
    Football Home

    Hill announces addition of five new Salukis

    Jerry Kill to be inducted into 2016 Kansas Sports Hall of Fame

    Football to host annual women's clinic on June 16

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTubeDesktop Wallpapers
    Football promotions

    Top 25 Rankings


    July 2, 2014

    Southern Illinois tight end MyCole Pruitt has been named to the 2014 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Awards Watch List, the CFPA announced this week. Pruitt enters the 2014 season as the reigning CFPA Tight End Award winner.

    Pruitt was a consensus first-team All-American after the 2013 season. He led the MVFC and ranked in the top-three nationally in receptions and receiving yards by a tight end despite missing two games with an injury, going on to earn the 2013 CFPA Tight End Award.

    The initial watch list includes 36 returning performers, vying for the top tight end award in the Football Championship Subdivision. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions. Players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

    The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

    CFPA is now in its seventh season of recognition. Founded in 2008, the CFPA's player and team performance index spans offense, defense, and special teams.

    Last season, Pruitt earned the CFPA Tight End Award, and in 2010, Saluki cornerback Korey Lindsey earned the CFPA Elite Defensive Back Award.

    The full list of 2014 CFPA winners will be announced January 14, 2015.