Phil Steele ranks Football No. 17




    Football Home

    HEADLINES
    Lennon announces coaching staff changes

    Pruitt earns first-team All-America honors from TSN

    Walk-on tryout set for Feb. 2

    RELATED LINKS
    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTubeDesktop Wallpapers
    Football promotions
    NATIONAL COVERAGE

    CBSSports.com Football

    Top 25 Rankings

    Blog


    July 21, 2011

    CLEVELAND, Ohio - Southern Illinois University was ranked No. 17 in Phil Steele's 2011 Football Championship Subdivision Top 40 preseason poll.

    The Salukis are coming off a 5-6 campaign in 2010, their first losing season since 2003. SIU looks to bounce back from the down year as returns 14 starters and has quality depth on both offense and defense.

    SIU reports for fall camp on Saturday, Aug. 6 and holds its first practice the next day. The Salukis open the 2011 season at Southeast Missouri State on Sept. 3.

    Everyday from now until Aug. 15, PhilSteele.com will release a new team from his Top 40 and give access to the teams magazine page for 24 hours. Below his Top 40 poll and the date the teams preview will be available.

    Phil Steele's FCS Preseason Top 40
    1) William & Mary Mon, Aug 15
    2) Eastern Washington Sat, Aug 13
    3) Georgia Southern Fri, Aug 12
    4) Northern Iowa Thur, Aug 11
    5) Appalachian St Wed, Aug 10
    6) Delaware Tue, Aug 9
    7) James Madison Mon, Aug 8
    8) Montana St Sat, Aug 6
    9) Wofford Fri, Aug 5
    10) Sacramento St Thur, Aug 4
    11) Jacksonville St Wed, Aug 3
    12) Montana Tue, Aug 2
    13) Central Arkansas Mon, Aug 1
    14) New Hampshire Sat July 30
    15) Stony Brook Fri, July 29
    16) Lehigh Fri, July 29
    17) Southern Illinois Fri, July 29
    18) South Carolina St Thur, July 28
    19) Chattanooga Thur, July 28
    20) North Dakota St Thur, July 28
    21) Murray St Wed, July 27
    22) Sam Houston St Wed, July 27
    23) Massachusetts Wed, July 27
    24) Southern Utah Tue, July 26
    25) Jackson St Tue, July 26
    26) Albany Tue, July 26
    27) Colgate Mon, July 25
    28) UT Martin Mon, July 25
    29) Harvard Mon, July 25
    30) Indiana St Sat, July 23
    31) Liberty Sat, July 23
    32) Florida A&M Sat, July 23
    33) Jacksonville Fri, July 22
    34) Grambling Fri, July 22
    35) McNeese St Fri, July 22
    36) Richmond Thur, July 21
    37) Youngstown St Thur, July 21
    38) UC Davis Wed, July 20
    39) SF Austin Wed, July 20
    40) Bethune-Cookman Wed, July 20

     

     

    SIU