Willis named to CFPA Kick Returner Award Watch List

    Tay Willis is one of 40 FCS players on the CFPA Kick Returner Watch List

    Tay Willis is one of 40 FCS players on the CFPA Kick Returner Watch List
    Football Home

    Hill announces addition of five new Salukis

    Jerry Kill to be inducted into 2016 Kansas Sports Hall of Fame

    Football to host annual women's clinic on June 16

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTubeDesktop Wallpapers
    Football promotions

    CBSSports.com Football

    Top 25 Rankings


    July 22, 2014

    Southern Illinois senior Tay Willis has been named to the 2014 College Football Performance Awards (CFPA) FCS Kick Returner Award Watch List, the CFPA announced this week.

    Willis averaged 23.1 yards per return on 13 kick returns in 2013. He had a 92-yard kick return touchdown against Missouri State. The all-purpose back also rushed for 321 yards and caught 23 passes for 173 yards. He was fourth on the team in all-purpose yards at 66.2 per game.

    Willis is the fifth SIU player to be named to a CFPA Watch List this year, joining Malcolm Agnew (running back), Thomas Kinney (kicker), MyCole Pruitt (tight end), and Tyler Williamson (linebacker).

    The initial CFPA watch list includes 40 returning performers, vying for the top kickoff returner award in the Football Championship Subdivision. All players are eligible for awards at their respective positions. Players are not preemptively eliminated from consideration.

    The goal of College Football Performance Awards is to provide the most scientifically rigorous conferments in college football. Recipients are selected exclusively based upon objective scientific rankings of the extent to which individual players increase the overall effectiveness of their teams. Twenty-eight CFPA winners have been first-round NFL Draft selections.

    CFPA is now in its seventh season of recognition. Founded in 2008, the CFPA's player and team performance index spans offense, defense, and special teams.



    The full list of 2014 CFPA winners will be announced January 14, 2015.