Erickson earns All-Conference recognition

    Jake Erickson earned his second career All-Conference selection on Tuesday.

    Jake Erickson earned his second career All-Conference selection on Tuesday.
    Men's Golf Home

    Men's Golf finishes season with 13th place at NCAA Regional

    Men's Golf slips one spot to 12th place after Day Two at NCAA Regional

    Men's Golf in 11th place after Day One at NCAA Regional

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube

    May 1, 2012

    By John Lock

    Complete Results I Complete ResultsGet Acrobat Reader

    HUCHINSON, Kan. - Jake Erickson earned All-Conference honors, and the Southern Illinois men's golf team placed eighth at the Missouri Valley Conference Championships on Tuesday. Erickson was one of 10 individuals to earn All-Conference recognition.

    Erickson, a junior, is now a two-time All-Conference golfer. He led the team in six tournaments this year and earned first-place finishes in two. He was just the second golfer in school history to win two tournaments in the same season. He earned MVC Golfer of the Week honors three times over the course of the season, becoming just the fourth player in school history with three weekly honors in a career.

    "It's good to see Jake earn some recognition for the year he's had," head coach Leroy Newton said. "He played some excellent golf this season and deserves something to show for it."

    Erickson's win at the Skyhawk Fall Classic in October led the way to an SIU team victory, its first team win in four years. All-Conference recognition went to the top six finishers at the tournament at the remaining top four in the conference in adjusted scoring average. Erickson's scoring average this season, 74.13, is the seventh-best single-season scoring average in school history.

    The team finished the season with an eighth-place finish at the MVC Championships. The Salukis shot a final-round 317 on Tuesday to finish eighth for the second year in a row.

    "We're certainly disappointed how this turned out," Newton said. "We had good tournaments all year, but we didn't have good shots these last two days. The good season didn't translate into a good last tournament."

    Brandon Cauldwell led the Salukis with three-round score of 231 on the Par-70, 6,598-yard Prairie Dunes Golf Course. Cauldwell led SIU in the final round with a 74, a top-10 score individually for the final round round. Joe Goelzhauser was just one stroke behind Cauldwell and finished tied for 31st individually in the 45-player tournament.

    Jared Harp (234), Jeffrey Miller (235) and Jake Erickson (238) rounded out the Saluki five. Erickson battled through a flu, which left him with very little sleep, to play the final round.

    Wichita State won the crown for the fifth-consecutive year. The Shockers have finished first or second at the MVC Championships every year since 1996. Hunter Sparks of Wichita State won the individual title.

    Southern loses four seniors but retains four of its top five scoring average golfers next year.

    1.) Wichita State: 288-293-296 (877, +37)
    2.) Missouri State: 300-299-296 (895, +55)
    3.) Northern Iowa: 303-292-307 (902, +62)
    4.) Creighton: 293-305-305 (903, +63)
    5.) Illinois State: 299-301-304 (904, +64)
    6.) Evansville: 294-300-312 (906, +66)
    7.) Drake: 303-292-315 (910, +70)
    8.) Southern Illinois: 297-312-317 (926, +86)
    9.) Bradley: 309-312-308 (929, +89)

    t-29.) Brandon Cauldwell 79-78-75 (232, +22)
    t-31.) Joe Goelzhauser 77-74-82 (233, +23)
    t-35.) Jared Harp 74-82-78 (234, +24)
    t-37.) Jeffrey Miller 71-82-82 (235, +25)
    39.) Jake Erickson 75-78-85 (238, +28)

    Rafael Becker, Wichita State
    Louis Cohen Boyer, Wichita State
    Jake Erickson, Southern Illinois
    Tyler Gann, Wichita State
    Will Hogan, Missouri State
    Andrew Luo, Evansville
    Calvin Pearson, Wichita State
    Hunter Sparks, Wichita State
    Kevin Stanek, Creighton
    Daily Young, Missouri State

    Golfer of the Year: Rafael Becker, Wichita State
    Newcomer of the Year: Louis Cohen Boyer, Wichita State
    Elite 18 Award Winner: Ryan Horner, UNI
    Coach of the Year: Grier Jones, Wichita State

    Course: Prairie Dunes Golf Club
    Location: Huchinson, Kan.
    Length: 6,598 yards
    Par: 70