Salukis End Season with 4-0 Loss to Wichita State

    Men's Tennis Home

    Rigby awarded MVC Postgraduate Scholarship

    Jonny Rigby receives ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award

    Salukis earn All-Conference, All-Select, Freshman of the Year and Elite 18

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube

    April 26, 2014

    Complete Results

    NORMAL, Ill. - The Southern Illinois men's tennis team saw its season come to an end on Saturday afternoon, falling 4-0 to Wichita State in the MVC Championships semifinals. The Salukis end the season at 10-11 overall, while Wichita State improved to 19-8 and will face Drake in the conference championship on Sunday.

    "We did not play our best tennis today," head coach Dann Nelson said. "The Wichita players really put it to us, and we wish them well in the finals. We struggled at No. 3 doubles letting break opportunities slip through our grasp. We just came out flat in doubles. In singles, we were down early in the first set and made a push on many of the courts in the second set but could not turn the momentum our way. I am proud of our team and our seniors for what we accomplished this season. We look forward to next year."

    The Salukis started flat in double play, falling behind on all three courts. Wichita got decisions at Nos. 2 and 3 doubles to give itself an early 1-0 lead. Needing just three singles wins to clinch the team match, Wichita got straight-set wins on courts two, three and five for the 4-0 victory.

    Jonny Rigby, Szymon Opieczonek and Jeremy Dixon's singles matches went unfinished. Dixon rallied to force a third set with a 6-4 win in his second set, the only SIU set win on the day.

    The Salukis close out a season in which they had one singles player (Jorge Cavero) and one doubles team (Rigby and Michal Kianicka) go undefeated in the regular season in MVC play, earning All-Conference recognition. Kianicka also competed at the top three singles spots and earned MVC Freshman of the Year honors.



    Singles competition
    1. Tin Ostojic (WSUM) vs. Jonny Rigby (SIU) 6-2, 4-3, unfinished
    2. Tomislav Gregurovic (WSUM) def. Jorge Cavero (SIU) 6-2, 6-2
    3. Guillermo Nicol (WSUM) def. Michal Kianicka (SIU) 6-2, 6-4
    4. Guillermo de Vilchez (WSUM) vs. Szymon Opieczonek (SIU) 7-6, 2-1, unfinished
    5. Jocelyn Devilliers (WSUM) def. Rafael Cuadrillero (SIU) 6-2, 6-2
    6. Ibian Hodgson (WSUM) vs. Jeremy Dixon (SIU) 6-0, 4-6, 2-0, unfinished

    Doubles competition
    1. Tomislav Gregurovic/Tin Ostojic (WSUM) vs. Jonny Rigby/Michal Kianicka (SIU) 6-4, unfinished
    2. Guillermo Nicol/Guillermo de Vilchez (WSUM) def. Jorge Cavero/Szymon Opieczonek (SIU) 8-3
    3. Ibian Hodgson/Jocelyn Devilliers (WSUM) def. Rafael Cuadrillero/Jeremy Dixon (SIU) 8-1