McDowell and Berwanger Named Scholar-Athlete All-MVC

    Women's Basketball Home

    Saluki women’s basketball announces 2016 summer camp details

    Women's Basketball celebrates historic 2015-16 season with postseason awards banquet

    Andrea Gorski named head coach at Bradley

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Desktop Wallpapers

    Feb. 25, 2003

    Carbondale, Ill. - Senior Molly McDowell and junior Katie Berwanger were named to the 2003 Missouri Valley Conference Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete Team, announced today. McDowell took second-team honors, while Berwanger was voted honorable mention.

    McDowell carries a 3.11 GPA in Recreation and Berwanger boasts a 3.88 GPA in Visual Communication. Both student-athletes are among 16 named to this year's team, as voted by the league's sports information directors. In addition, McDowell and Berwanger each earned MVC Scholar-Athlete honors for the first time in their careers.

    The criteria for the Scholar-Athlete team ballotting parallels the Verizon/CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) standards for Academic All-America voting. Nominees must be starters or important reserves, have played at least 50 percent of a team's games and must carry at least a 3.00 cumulative grade point average (on a 4.0 scale). Student-athletes must also have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at their institution (true and redshirt freshmen are not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at the institution.

    Honorable mention selections are awarded to student-athletes who receive a minimum of two votes. A total of 30 Valley student-athletes met the criteria for scholar-athlete honors in 2003.

    2003 Scholar-Athlete Women's Basketball Team
    First Team
    Carla Bennett, Drake
    Jenny Burns, Creighton
    Dayna Finch, Creighton
    Jenna Hayes, Evansville
    Kourtney Mennen, Indiana State
    Katie Miller, Northern Iowa
    Laura Spanheimer, Creighton

    Second Team Sara Bailey, Bradley Angela Buckner, Wichita State Allison Burchill, Drake Nicole Lehman, SMS Molly McDowell, Southern Illinois Kristin Stewart, Indiana State

    Honorable Mention Katie Berwanger, Southern Illinois Stephanie Busbey, SMS Genny Mueller, Bradley