Courier named to Honorable Mention Scholar-Athlete Team

    Jordyn Courier

    Jordyn Courier
    Women's Basketball Home

    Saluki women’s basketball announces 2016 summer camp details

    Women's Basketball celebrates historic 2015-16 season with postseason awards banquet

    Andrea Gorski named head coach at Bradley

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Desktop Wallpapers

    March 11, 2014

    MVC Release

    ST. LOUIS - Southern Illinois senior Jordyn Courier was named an honorable mention selection on the Missouri Valley Conference's Scholar-Athlete team, the conference announced Tuesday. Courier holds a 3.86 GPA in psychology and is on track to graduate in May.

    Courier has played in 111 games in her SIU career, starting 46. She has averaged 4.4 points in her career and made 108 3-pointers, which ranks fifth in school history. She has piled up 492 points, 153 rebounds, 57 assists, 51 steals and 35 blocks in her career.

    In 2013-14, Courier has played in 28 games and made 14 starts, including the last 12 games. She has averaged 8.7 points in the those 12 starts, which ranks second on the team. She scored a career-high 21 points against Missouri State. Since conference play started, Courier has raised her season scoring average from 1.6 points per game to 5.1.

    Courier was also an honorable mention Scholar-Athlete team selection last year. She is the program's first back-to-back Scholar-Athlete team selection since Jayme Sweere earned three-straight honorable mention selections from 2006-08.

    To be eligible for the MVC Scholar-Athlete team, student-athletes must be in their second year of college eligibility and hold a 3.2 cumulative GPA or higher.

    First Team
    Brooke Brown, UNI
    Anna Munn, Indiana State (MVP)
    Chloe Nelson, Illinois State
    Kenzie Williams, Missouri State
    Michelle Young, Bradley

    Second Team
    Bilqis Abdul-Qaadir, Indiana State
    Kelsey Budd, Bradley
    Kelsey Jacobs, Wichita State
    Jen Keitel, UNI
    Mallory Ladd, Evansville

    Honorable Mention
    Lyndsey Booker, Loyola
    Jordyn Courier, Southern Illinois
    Brittni Donaldson, UNI
    Liza Heap, Drake
    Kasey Johnson, Indiana State
    Catie O'Leary, Bradley
    Katy Winge, Illinois State