Macklin, Napier earn All-MVC Accolades

    Freshman guard Rishonda Napier

    Freshman guard Rishonda Napier
    Women's Basketball Home

    Spots still available for 2016 SIU Women’s Basketball Camps

    Spots still available for 2016 SIU Women’s Basketball Camps

    Saluki women’s basketball announces 2016 summer camp details

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Desktop Wallpapers

    March 13, 2013

    By Bill Ford

    MVC Release

    CARBONDALE, Ill.— Southern Illinois women’s basketball players Cartaesha Macklin and Rishonda Napier both earned All-Missouri Valley Conference honors, the league announced Wednesday.

    Macklin was named Honorable Mention All-MVC for the second consecutive season while Napier was named to the MVC All-Freshman Team.

    Macklin finished the regular season as the MVC’s leader in assists with an average of 4.3 per game in addition to ranking second in the league in scoring at 14.9 points per game. The Mayo, Fla., native led SIU in scoring in 16 games this season, including eight out of SIU’s last nine games. Macklin also led SIU with an average of 1.3 steals per game and ranked third on the team in rebounding at 4.0 per game.

    Napier was SIU’s second leading scorer behind Macklin with an average of 10.9 points per game, which ranked third in the MVC among freshmen. The Burbank, Calif., native was SIU’s leading 3-point shooter with 51 treys during the regular season, and she was also second on the team in assists (2.4/game) and steals (1.1/game).

    Napier is SIU’s third MVC All-Freshman honoree in the past two seasons as Macklin and center Alexus Patterson both earned the honor last season.

    The MVC will announced the conference’s Coach of the Year, Player of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year Thursday between the first two games of the MVC Tournament. The tournament opens with No. 8 Missouri State taking on No. 9 Drake at 4:05 p.m. at the Family Arena in St. Charles, Mo., while No. 7 Evansville faces No. 10 SIU at 7:05 p.m. in Thursday’s nightcap.



    First Team
    Jessica Diamond, Wichita State
    Alex Harden, Wichita State
    Marissa Janning, Creighton
    Jacqui Kalin, UNI
    Sarah Nelson, Creighton
    Jamie Russell, Illinois State

    Second Team
    Kyndal Clark, Drake
    Samantha Heck, Evansville
    Anna Munn, Indiana State
    Janae Smith, Illinois State
    Katie Yohn, Bradley

    Honorable Mention
    Whitney Edie, Missouri State
    Mallory Ladd, Evansville
    Cartaesha Macklin, Southern Illinois
    Racheal Mahan, Indiana State
    Candace Sykes, Illinois State

    All-Freshman Team
    Marissa Janning, Creighton
    Marina Laramie, Indiana State
    Rishonda Napier, Southern Illinois
    Hannah Schonhardt, UNI
    Tyonna Snow, Missouri State

    All-Defensive Team
    Kyndal Clark, Drake
    Alex Harden, Wichita State
    Sarah Nelson, Creighton
    Jamie Russell, Illinois State
    Taylor Whitley, Indiana State