Three SIU Hoopsters Honored by IHSA

    Women's Basketball Home

    Spots still available for 2016 SIU Women’s Basketball Camps

    Spots still available for 2016 SIU Women’s Basketball Camps

    Saluki women’s basketball announces 2016 summer camp details

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Desktop Wallpapers

    March 1, 2001

    Southern Illinois University seniors Maria Niebrugge (Teutopolis H.S.) and Courtney Smith (Carlyle H.S.) along with sophomore Molly McDowell (Nokomis, H.S.) were named to the Illinois High School Association's all-Time all-Tournament Team.

    The Class-A all-Tournament Team, which is celebrating the first 25 years of girls basketball, has been selected in a poll of statewide news media. Results of the poll were announced Feb. 22 at the State Farm March Madness Celebration Banquet in the Bone Student Center on the campus of Illinois State University.

    The 10-member team includes three players from perennial powerhouse Teutopolis. Representing the Lady Shoes are three-time all-tournament selection Doris Carie (1984-85-86), three-time all-tournament pick Vicki Klingler (1988-89-90) and two-time all-tournament choice Niebrugge (1995 and 97). In addition, two other three-time all-tournament selections made the squad. They were all-time state final scoring leader Courtney Porter of Hume (Shiloh) (1988-89-90) and all-time state final rebounding leader Smith of Carlyle (1995-96-97).

    Rounding out the team were Beth Hasenmiller of Elgin (St. Edward) (1985-86), Michelle Hasheider of Oakwville (1993-94), Cindy Kaufmann of Seneca (1987), McDowell of Nokomis (1998-99) and Susan Wellman of Quincy (Notre Dame) (1983-84).