Desmar Jackson, Cartaesha Macklin named to MVC Preseason Team

    Cartaesha Macklin

    Cartaesha Macklin
    Women's Basketball Home

    Spots still available for 2016 SIU Women’s Basketball Camps

    Spots still available for 2016 SIU Women’s Basketball Camps

    Saluki women’s basketball announces 2016 summer camp details

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Desktop Wallpapers

    Oct. 30, 2013

    CHICAGO, Ill. - Southern Illinois was represented on both the men's and women's Missouri Valley Conference Preseason Team, as Desmar Jackson and Cartaesha Macklin were selected in a poll of media and coaches, the league announced Wednesday at Media Day on the campus of Loyola University.

    SIU's men's team was picked for eight-place in the 10-team league, while the women were tabbed for 10th. Coming off a Final Four appearance in 2013, Wichita State was selected to win the men's side, and Indiana State was projected to win the women's crown.

    Jackson averaged 15.1 points and 5.4 rebounds last year for the Salukis and has scored more points in his college career (1,271) than any active player in the league. He transferred to SIU from Wyoming after the 2011 season.

    Macklin was SIU's leading scorer and ranked second in the MVC with an average of 15.0 points per game.

    The Salukis finished 10th on the men's side last year under first-year head coach Barry Hinson -- precisely where they were picked in the preseason poll a year ago. Along with Jackson, Southern returns guard Anthony Beane, who averaged 9.1 points and made the All-Freshman team in 2013.

    After being picked eighth in last year's preseason poll, Southern's women's team finished 10th, and Cindy Stein was brought in to change the program's direction. She returns all five starters.

    1. Wichita State (40) 400
    2. Indiana State 352
    3. UNI 318
    4. Missouri State 258
    5. Bradley 244
    6. Evansville 186
    7. Illinois State 139
    8. Southern Illinois 123
    9. Loyola 95
    10. Drake 85



    1. Indiana State (26) 378
    2. Wichita State (13) 360
    3. UNI 259
    4. Drake 221
    5. Missouri State 216
    6. Loyola (1) 211
    7. Bradley 194
    8. Illinois State 166
    9. Evansville 104
    10. Southern Illinois 91

    Ron Baker, Wichita State So. G
    *Cleanthony Early, Wichita State Sr. F
    Desmar Jackson, Southern Illinois Sr. G
    Walt Lemon, Jr., Bradley Sr. G
    Marcus Marshall, Missouri State So. G
    Jake Odum, Indiana State Sr. G
    Seth Tuttle, UNI Jr. F 6-8
    Honorable Mention Selections
    Manny Arop, Indiana State Sr. G/F
    Tyshon Pickett, Bradley Sr. F
    Seth VanDeest, Drake Sr. C

    Kyndal Clark, Drake G Jr.
    *Alex Harden, Wichita State G/F Jr.
    Simone Law, Loyola F Jr.
    Cartaesha Macklin, Southern Illinois G Jr.
    Anna Munn, Indiana State G Sr.

    *Preseason Player of the Year