Women's Golf in third after day one of NewWave Communications Racer Classic

    Women's Golf Home

    Brooke Cusumano named CoSIDA Academic All-District

    Hanna Netisingha honored with State Farm MVC Good Neighbor Award

    Three Saluki women's golfers earn MVC Scholar-Athlete recognition

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube

    March 4, 2012

    By Megan Kramper

    Racer Classic Day One Results

    MURRAY, Ky. - The Southern Illinois Women's Golf team opened up its spring season at the NewWave Communications Racer Classic on Sunday.

    The Salukis currently stand in third place as a team after a round of 18 holes with a 324 overall score, trailing leader Murray State by just four strokes at the Miller Memorial Golf Course.

    "Despite windy and cold conditions we are only four strokes behind and as a team we really stayed competitive today," Head coach Alexis Mihelich said.

    Seniors Alisha Matthews leads the team as she sits in second place overall with a 78 and Margaret Gilley followed closely behind in a tie for sixth with an 81.

    Shaina Rennegarbe concluded day one finished tied for 11th with an 82 while Cassie Rushing finished one stroke behind with an 83 in a tie for 14h.

    Ryann Gilley rounded out the top five finishers for the Dawgs in a tie for 34th with an 89 after 18 holes

    As individuals, Ashleigh Rushing tied for 26th with a 86, Jennifer Bernhardt tied for 34th with an 89, and Amber Phillips tallied a 94 to finish in a tie for 41st.

    Tomorrow's final round will consist of 18 holes with a 9 a.m. shot gun start.

    Southern Illinois 324
    2 Alisha Matthews (39-39) 78
    T 6 Margaret Gilley 41-40) 81
    T 11 Shaina Rennegarbe (41-41) 82
    T 14 Cassie Rushing (44-39) 83
    T 34 Ryann Gilley (43-46) 89
    *T 26 Ashleigh Rushing (43-43) 86
    *T 34 Jennifer Bernhardt (47-42) 89
    *T 41 Amber Phillips (50-44) 89



    *Played as an individual

    Overall Team Scores
    1. Murray State University 320
    2. Drury 321
    3. Southern Illinois 324
    4. Marshall University 333 5. Eastern Kentucky 334
    6. Jackson State 351
    7. Lipscomb University 358
    8. Tennessee State 377