Five Salukis earn All-MVC honors

    Senior Morgan Barchan

    Senior Morgan Barchan
    Softball Home

    2016 Season In Review

    Harre earns Academic All-America honor

    Harre, Jones earn NFCA All-Region honors

    Official Athletics Twitter
    Official Athletics Facebook
    Official Athletics YouTube
    Official Softball Twitter
    Desktop Wallpapers

    May 8, 2013

    By Bill Ford

    Photo Gallery

    MVC Release

    OMAHA, Neb. — Five members of the Southern Illinois softball team were named All-Missouri Valley Conference at Wednesday night’s MVC Tournament Banquet.

    Senior Morgan Barchan and junior Jayna Spivey earned First-Team All-MVC honors while junior Allie VadeBoncouer and sophomores Kalyn Harker and Meredith Wilson both earned Second-Team honors.

    Southern’s leadoff hitter, Barchan earns the second All-MVC honor of her career. Barchan led the MVC in hits with 61 through the end of the regular season, which ranks sixth in SIU history for a single season. She also ranks fourth in the MVC with 42 runs scored, which also ranks sixth in SIU history. The senior outfielder also leads SIU in batting average (.359) and on-base percentage (.455) and is tied for the team lead in walks (29).

    Spivey earns All-MVC honors for the third consecutive season after having the most productive season of her career at the plate. She led SIU and ranked third in the MVC with 43 RBI, which ranks seventh in SIU history for a single season. She also ranked second in the MVC with 11 home runs, tying a career best that is tied for seventh in SIU history. The junior second baseman leads SIU in slugging percentage (.573) with a team-high 20 extra-base hits. She also ranks second on the team in batting average (.306) and runs scored (37) and is tied for second on the team in hits (48).

    VadeBoncouer earns All-MVC honors for the second consecutive season after a stellar season both at and behind the plate for the Salukis. The junior posted 32 hits for the season and drove in 29 runs with 12 extra-base hits. Vadeboncouer also drew 20 walks and is again amongst the nation’s leaders in hit-by-pitches with 22 for the year. Southern’s starting catcher, VadeBoncouer has thrown out 16 runners, which ranks second in the MVC.

    Wilson also earns All-MVC honors for the second straight season. The sophomore has played primarily as a designated player for the Salukis, but has also made several starts in right field. Wilson has posted 34 hits for the Salukis and driven in 26 runs with 13 extra-base hits.

    Harker earns the first All-MVC honor of her career. The sophomore was SIU’s everyday starter in center field before suffering a season-ending injury a few weeks ago. Prior to the injury, Harker ranked third on the team with a .288 batting average. Harker posted 30 hits and scored 23 runs while driving in 18.

    The Salukis open the MVC Tournament at 11 a.m. Thursday against Wichita State at Creighton's CU Sports Complex.

    P Becca Changstrom, Creighton
    P Jamie Fisher, Northern Iowa
    C Elizabeth Kay, Illinois State
    1B Amy Baker, Creighton
    1B Laura Canopy, Illinois State
    2B Jayna Spivey, Southern Ililnois
    2B Ashley Brentz, Missouri State
    3B Hayley Nybo, Drake
    3B Shelby Wilson, Indiana State
    SS Kirstin Cutter, Missouri State
    SS Amy Pierce, Drake
    OF Nicole Randel, Drake
    OF Jhavon Hamilton, Illinois State
    OF Morgan Barchan, Southern Illinois
    DP-P Jordan Gronewold, Drake
    DP-U Erin Carney, Wichita State
    DP-U Blair Lowe, Creighton

    P Rebekah Schmidt, Drake
    P Taylor Baxter, Illinois State
    C Bailiegh Basham, Bradley
    C Allie VadeBoncouer, Southern Illinois
    1B Gina Brown, Northern Iowa
    3B Haley Kriener, Northern Iowa
    3B Heather Duckworth, Missouri State
    SS Liz Dike, Creighton
    SS Morgan Allee, Indiana State
    OF Macie Silliman, Drake
    OF Nichelle Harrison, Illinois State
    OF Lauren Kellar, Illinois State
    OF Kalyn Harker, Southern Illinois
    DP-P Madeline Lynch-Crumrine, Bradley
    DP-U Nicole Fisher, Northern Iowa
    DP-U Meredith Wilson, Southern Illinois
    DP-U Mary Stephens, Missouri State

    Player of the Year: Elizabeth Kay, Illinois State
    Pitcher of the Year: Becca Changstrom, Creighton
    Co-Newcomers of the Year: Morgan Allee, Indiana State & Caitlin Wnek, Northern Iowa
    Coaching Staff of the Year: Creighton (Brent Vigness, Abby Johnson, Renae Sinkler)